AirFlair in Concert


With: Laetitia de Lange (flute), Johan Ferreira (oboe), Jaco van Staden (French horn), Lizet Smith (clarinet), Esther Watkinson (bassoon)

The AirFlair Wind Quintet was founded in 2014 and unites five leading musicians from Pretoria and its surrounding regions.  Its members all occupy principal positions within the Gauteng Philharmonic and each has a reputation of astounding musicianship which collectively results in AirFlair’s status.  Since its inception AirFlair has shared it’s enthusiasm for chamber music with audiences around Gauteng and each member’s contribution stems from extensive individual chamber-, solo-, and orchestral experience.

In this performance – AirFlair in Concert – audience members will be treated to charming woodwind melodies spanning France, Russia, and South Africa.  Debussy’s Petite Suite along with movements from Stravinsky’s baroque-influenced Pulcinella Suite ensures an appealing and vivid European sound.